LNG APPLICATIONS

Liquid Natural Gas is one of the most important energy sources and energy carriers of our industrialized society. The energy is stored in the chemical structure of the methane molecule and it can be released by a combustion process anywhere in the world.

Mainly large vessels are used beside pipelines to transport the methane between different locations. During transportation the cryogenic liquid (- 162 °C) is undergoing evaporation processes, that cannot be avoided. To ensure that the natural gas is reaching its target destination, the evaporated fraction has to be liquefied again by a compression process. For this application we can offer the best solution to protect the environment and to reduce gas losses.

 

RECOMMENDED MATERIALS

STASSKOL uses optimized PTFE recipes with excellent wear resistances even at low temperatures of cryogenic applications to ensure high service life-times of the sealing elements.
This refers to the piston ring and guide ring materials as well as to the internal parts of the piston rod packings. Also other aspects have to be considered at the rod packings like the appropriate steel grade for the packing cups or an O-ring material that keeps its flexibility even at cryogenic temperatures.

 

.

MOUNTING INSTRUCTIONS

During assembly it has to be ensured that all parts are free of dust and grease. The different packing cups are combined to a rod packing that includes the gas tight cooling channels, so the cups have to be mounted in the right order. The packing will be installed into the cylinder bore and the flange has to be tightened against the cylinder according to the torque specifications.

 

Thomas Borchardt
Sales and Technical Support

( +49 3925 288-100
lng-team@stasskol.de

 

Dr. Uwe Morawa
Sales and Technical Support

( +49 3925 288-162
lng-team@stasskol.de

TOP

LNG-ANWENDUNGEN

Erdgas ist einer der bedeutendsten Energieträger unserer industrialisierten Gesellschaft. Die Energie ist in der chemischen Struktur des Methan-Moleküls gespeichert und sie kann an jedem beliebigen Ort durch Verbrennung wieder frei gesetzt werden. 

Um das Methan zu transportieren, werden neben Pipelines vor allem große Tankschiffe eingesetzt, wobei das verflüssigte und tiefkalte Methan (- 162 °C) während der Reise unweigerlich Verdampfungsprozessen unterliegt. Um die Umwelt zu schonen und Verluste zu minimieren, müssen die durch Verdampfung entstandenen Gasmengen zuverlässig wieder komprimiert und erneut verflüssigt werden - hierzu bieten wir die optimale Lösung an.

MATERIALEMPFEHLUNG

STASSKOL verwendet optimierte PTFE-Rezepturen, um auch bei den tiefen Temperaturen der Flüssiggas-Anwendung eine hohe Verschleißfestigkeit und damit eine lange Laufzeit der Dichtwerkstoffe garantieren zu können. Dies bezieht sich sowohl auf die Kolben- und Führungsringe als auch auf die Innenteile der Kolbenstangendichtung. Bei der Packung sind allerdings weitere Aspekte zu beachten, wie die korrekte Auswahl des Stahls für die Gehäuseteile, sowie die richtige Materialauswahl bei den
O-Ringen.

.

MONTAGEHINWEISE

Bei der Montage ist darauf zu achten, dass alle Teile fett- und staubfrei sind. Die einzelnen Kammern der Kolbenstangendichtung werden zu einem Packungsgehäuse montiert, das auch den gasdichten Kühlkreislauf beinhaltet. Das Gehäuse wird in die Bohrung des Zylinders eingeführt und der Flansch wird mit dem Zylinder verschraubt.

Thomas Borchardt
Sales and Technical Support

( +49 3925 288-100
lng-team@stasskol.de

Dr. Uwe Morawa
Sales and Technical Support

( +49 3925 288-162
lng-team@stasskol.de

OBEN